BMW Motorrad Motorsport South Africa

Success on two continents: wins for the BMW S 1000 RR racers.

The BMW Motorrad Motorsport riders were victorious in every series they contested last weekend (23/24 July 2016): Michael Laverty and Taylor MacKenzie won in the British Superbike Championship (BSB) in Thruxton (GB), Vincent Lonbois continued his winning streak in the International Road Racing Championship (IRRC) in Chimay (BE) and Colin Butler rode his RR to victory in the Malaysia Superbike Championship (MSC) in Sepang (MY) – The success is completed by further podium finishes.

2016 BMW Motorrad Race Trophy.

Courtesy of another double win in the IRRC, Vincent Lonbois (BE) returned back to the top three of the 2016 BMW Motorrad Race Trophy. The Belgian RR rider improved from 17th to third now with 239.55 Race Trophy points. The rankings are still led by Michal Prášek (CZ / AARR STK) with 325.60 points, second place is held by Jordan Szoke (CA / CSBK) with 291.25 points.

British Superbike Championship in Thruxton, Great Britain.

Tyco BMW rider Michael Laverty (GB) enjoyed a great weekend in the Superbike class (BSB SBK). In race one he stepped onto the podium, finishing second. He even bettered this in race two, when he celebrated his second win of the season on his BMW S 1000 RR. In the championship rankings Laverty improved to fourth. Four other BMW riders claimed top ten results. In race one Richard Cooper (GB / Buildbase BMW Motorrad), Jakub Smrz (CZ / Smiths Racing BMW) and Martin Jessopp (GB / Riders Motorcycles BMW) crossed the line in eighth, ninth and tenth. In the second heat Lee Jackson (GB / Buildbase BMW Motorrad) was tenth.

In the Superstock class race (BSB STK) the BMW riders were once more in a class of their own. No less than eight BMW S 1000 RR crossed the line in the top ten. The BMW array was led by Buildbase BMW rider Taylor MacKenzie (GB), who celebrated his fourth win of the season. He was joined on the podium by Joshua Elliott (GB / Tyco BMW) in third. Positions four to nine also went to BMW riders: Ian Hutchinson (GB / Tyco BMW) was fourth, followed by Michael Rutter (GB / Bathams SMT), Adam Jenkinson (GB / NEI Motorsport), Alex Olsen (GB / Power Projects Racing), David Johnson (AU / Fleetwood Grab Services) and Chrissy Rouse (GB / CECS / Mission Racing). In the overall standings of the BSB STK, MacKenzie is in the lead ahead of Hutchinson.

International Road Racing Championship in Chimay, Belgium.

Six races and six victories: BMW rider Vincent Lonbois (BE) is the man to beat in the 2016 IRRC. Last weekend, the third round of the season was held in Chimay in Belgium. At his home round, Lonbois celebrated another double win on his Herpigny Motors BMW Motorrad Belux team’s BMW S 1000 RR and extended his championship lead.

His team-mate Sébastien Le Grelle (BE) was second once more in both races. Didier Grams (DE / G&G Motorsport) also secured a podium finish, claiming third in race one. The successful outing for the RR riders was completed by Patrick Quintens (BE), who was fifth on both occasions, Petr Bičiště (CZ / Kimura Racing Team), who claimed two eighth places, and Christian Wiesinger (AT / PSV-Wels Motorsport), who finished ninth in race one.

Malaysia Superbike Championship in Sepang, Malaysia.

In the Superbike class (MSC SBK) Colin Butler (CA / AP Racing) took his first victory of the season. Butler won race two after he had already finished second on the podium in race one. Another podium finish for the BMW S 1000 RR followed in the second race of the Superstock class (MSC STK) when Linggam Rammoo (MY) was third. Two more BMW riders secured top ten finishes in the MSC STK: Nasarudin Mat Yusop (MY / BMW Malaysia) was tenth and sixth respectively and Dominic Chang (SG / SportsRider Racing Team) finished ninth in race one.

BMW Motorrad Race Trophy rankings.

BMW Combined Road Race Challenge – Ulster GP:
13.08: Superstock: 1st Ian Hutchinson, 2nd Michael Dunlop
13.08: Superbike Race 1: 1st Ian Hutchinson, 3rd Michael Dunlop
13.08: Superbike Race 2: 1st Ian Hutchinson, 3rd Michael Dunlop

IDM International German Championship - Assen:
14.08: Superbike Race 1: 3rd Bastian Mackels
14.08: Superbike Race 2: -
14.08: Superstock Race 1: 2nd Pepijn Bijsterbosch, 3rd Jan Bühn
14.08: Superstock Race 2: 2nd Pepijn Bijsterbosch, 3rd Jan Bühn

French Superbike Championship – Pau Arnos:
14.08: Superbike Race 1: 1st Kenny Foray
14.08: Superbike Race 2: 2nd Kenny Foray

French European Bikes Championship – Pau Arnos:
14.08: Race 1: 1st Florian Brunet-Lugardon, 2nd Benjamin Colliaux, 3rd Michel Amalric
14.08: Race 2: 1st Benjamin Colliaux, 2nd Florian Brunet-Lugardon

Update browser.

Please update your version of Internet Explorer as the version you are using is no longer supported.

Click here to update Internet Explorer.